Holidays are always a much-welcomed chance to put new and special twists on my family and friends’ favorite foods.

This year I revisited and revised some old recipes, to (I think) great success.

Recipe links and pics for meat, cheese, ice cream, and other foodstuffs under the cut

Antipasto Platter: Roasted Veg with Homemade Ricotta
Using our handy-dandy Grilled Veg Platter Chart I served up sweet, savory herb-marinated and grilled eggplant, zucchini, and red peppers alongside fresh mozz and pepperoni. I broke my own rule (you all know I hate rules) and subbed out a condiment for a cheese that could pull double duty: Homemade Ricotta. Srsly, this could not be any easier. Follow the link to the post on SeriousEats; a note: I added a bit more vinegar and had to microwave for much longer, but I think I just have a terrible microwave.  Topped it off with a drizzle of good olive oil, fresh cracked black pepper, and a pinch of sea salt. So, so, so yum.

Ginger Lime Scallion Ribs

Spicy Citrus Chicken
I resurrected the yummo chicken from last year’s All-girl terrace time. Not sure what I did wrong but flavor wasn’t as intense this time. But it was some of the juciest and most tender chicken I’ve ever had, so we still win at life.

Brandied Peach Ice Cream
I made and posted a lower-fat version for Father’s Day last year. It’s hard to improve upon perfection but we try, friends. We try. Click through for both versions.

Peaches N Cake!

