I’ve been remiss, friends. I’ve taken another long blogging sabbatical (blogatical?)  I was busy, then I was traveling, then my working, then I was sick, Excuses excuses, so on and so forth.
Can I make it up to you?
Please?
Pleeeeeeeease?

Fear not, friends. There will be LOTS of cooking this week. Not only is this Thanksgiving week, the holy grail of gluttony in the name of tradition, I’m at my Grandma’s house.
She’s one of my favorite people in the universe and has a kitchen a food nerd could live in forever. Every gadget, appliance, and utensil you can imagine. Cast iron pans seasoned to non-stick and big flavor perfection over 60 years. And a chest freezer that made the trek from NJ to Florida that holds more secrets,tricks, and goodies than Marry Poppins’ carpet bag.
This is gonna be fun.
I came in from seeing my auntie perform in an amazing show last night to find pork chops thawing in the sink. I scrounged around the fridge and freezer, and this is what we got.


Spinach Stuffed Pork Chops

  • 4 pork chops
  • 9oz cooked chopped spinach (1 box frozen or 8 cups fresh)
  • 2 tbsp pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese (flavored, if you choose)
  • Pepperjack Cheese (Havarti or monterey jack if you don’t like spicy)
  • Onion
  • Bell pepper
  • Garlic

1. Trim and clean you pork chops, and cut a pocket in each; don’t split all the way open, you don’t want your stuffing to ooze out .

2. Prep the stuffing. If using frozen spinach, cook per directions and drain well. If using fresh, clean and de-stem, and saute with garlic. Fresh spinach cooks down a lot. Typically 6 cups fresh – 1 cup cooked.
Saute diced onions, bell pepper, and pine nuts with garlic. If you want something heartier you can add mushrooms, bacon, or sausage.

3. Add cream cheese (I used whipped cream cheese with chive), cheese,  salt  &  pepper.
 4. Stuff liberally and dredge lightly in season salted flour. Sear on both sides (approx 4 minutes on medium – high heat), then finish in oven for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

White Wine Mustard Sauce

  • 1 c white wine
  • 1 tbsp mustard (dijon or spicy brown)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • kosher salt

Saute the garlic in 1/2 the butter. When just toasted, add wine and whisk in mustard. Add a pinch of salt and reduce, then finish by whisking in the remainder of the butter. This would also be lovely with sage, tarragon, and/ or shallots.
Serve with starch of choice and a nice crisp salad. You get the creaminess of the spinach, the nuttiness and spice of the pine nuts and cheese, and a sweetness from the onions wrapped in a tender crunchy-crust chop.
Quick. Easy. Flavorful. Filling.

Enjoy, friends!

