Is your breakfast boring? Are you sick of ordinary omelets, tasteless toast, and plain pancakes? Alright, enough alliteration, let’s spice things up!

I’ve been on a serious chai latte kick lately. I’m trying to wean off of coffee (sweet, delicious coffee…*drool*  ) and it’s a decent substitute. An adventure that I haven’t written about yet took me to Kabab King in Queens, NY this summer, and showed me what a proper chai tea could be – rich with layers of spice and complimentary flavors. Cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, et al bloomed through my senses and slammed into my brain, causing me to say “where have you been all my life?”  The Tazo concentrate I keep in the fridge at work is a poor substitute but one takes what one can get, dreaming of the next day I’ll have time to hop on the uptown R .
Enough rhapsodizing, let’s cook!
Last week I was playing around and added some chai latte concentrate to an egg white for a french toast. It was good, but I wanted to amp up the flavor and started playing around with ideas.
 Chai French Toast

  • Eggs
  • Chai Latte concentrate
  • Cinnamon
  • Bread of choice

 

(No, I didn’t give you measurements. There are only four ingredients.  )  Melt butter on a griddle, dredge the bread in the egg mixture, brown on both sides. Pat yourself on the back.

Variations on a theme: If you want to dress this up some, make a stuffed french toast by choosing a thick sliced bread (challah works well) and slicing a pocket in it. Spoon in a mixture of cream cheese, walnuts, cinnamon, and citrus zest.

 Tea Spiced Pancakes
Follow the instructions on your favorite pancake mix, subbing out the tea concentrate for most of the milk.
Mine ended up:
2c Pancake Mix
1c tea
1/3c soy milk
sugar

Note: A lot of people leave the sugar out of pancake recipes but it’s not just for flavor. The chemical reaction with the milk acts as leavening, yielding a fluffier pancake. When making plain pancakes, I add  a tablespoon of lemon juice and let sit for a few minutes before ladling onto the griddle; bubbles will form in the batter and it will expand.

 Chai Coconut Syrup
1 cup Chai Concentrate
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup creamed coconut  NOTE: Creamed coconut is not Cream OF Coconut. If using cream of coconut know that it’s extremely sweet. Cut the brown sugar to 1/2 cup.

Combine in saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. As the mixture heats it will try to boil over so keep a close eye and use a bigger pot than you think you need. When that happens, remove from heat, whisk, and return to heat until liquid is reduced by half. It will seem to be very liquid but will thicken as it cools until you have the proper syrup consistency. Should keep in the refrigerator for up to a week, well covered. Serve warm.

I paired all of this with a sausage & veg frittata and had a very pleasant brunch with Daddums watching Joe Flacco (wassup UD Alum!) show the Steelers who’s boss. French toast and football… fall has arrived.

