My favorite meal of the day, nay, of the week, is brunch. It’s the only meal that combines sweet, savory, caffeine, and if you do it right, booze. You can eat brunch any day, of course, but Sunday and brunch go together like peas and carrots. Or coffee cake and… coffee. That metaphor got away from me, moving on.
I have very nice memories of waiting till Mom got home from church to eat quiche and crispy bacon on the front porch of my parents’ home on warm summer mornings. Now i’m (kind of) a grownup, and eat on my own terrace as often as possible when the weather cooperates. A while ago I was on a serious quiche kick but had no pie shells and a few potatoes begging for attention. Rather than cubing the tubers for home fries, I decided to slice and use as a crust. Frittata + Potato Crust = Pottata. I can’t have been the first person to think of this, but I felt rather clever at the time.

Next weekend invite some friends over, make some mimosas, and try this easy one-dish dish.

  • 2 Large or 3 medium potatoes, sliced thinly
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1 1/2c shredded cheese of choice  – I used mozzarella
  • 2 Italian sausages, sliced
  • 1/2 c onion, diced
  • 1/2 c mushrooms
  • Parmesan cheese, salt, pepper to taste

Brown sausage, then saute onions and mushrooms in rendered fat. Into two bowls separate egg yolks and whites; whip whites until just frothy and gently whip yolks together. Fold yolks into whites, and add salt and pepper to taste, then fold in vegetables and half of cheese.  Slice potatoes into rounds and line casserole dish. Sprinkle sausage and remainder of cheese atop potatoes, then pour egg mixture over top. Bake at 350 Degrees for 30-40 minutes.

 

For more color or a more vibrant flavor profile I might sub out the white onions and use scallions and add red bell peppers.
No matter what you mix in, i’m sure it will be wonderful. Tell me what your favorite quiche fillings are in the comments!

