This was a busy baking week for me. First the savory thumbprints for the baby shower, and somehow I volunteered to bring cupcakes to a cocktail party on Friday. Unsure where to start, I took a few things into consideration: The hostess is allergic to chocolate, a guest is allergic to cinnamon, and I had a bunch of bananas inching towards rotten on my desk. With those factors in mind, I decided on Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Honey Icing (huzzah!).

I found a recipe for banana cupcakes on Martha Stewart’s site but it called for an awful lot of flour and I was afraid it would be too muffin-like. Instead I settled on Geena Neely’s Recipe, with a few lower-fat substitutions. Please visit the link for the original; my version is below.  I subbed out brown and raw sugars to give some depth of flavor since I didn’t use any nuts or spices. The yogurt ensures a chewy moist cake, but it makes for a smaller crumb pattern. Coming out of the oven, my petit gateau were full and fluffy, but collapsed in on themselves upon cooling. Ugly, but still yummy.

I decided a wanted a fluffy thick buttercream icing instead of a loose glaze, and found a nice recipe on Allrecipies.com. I wanted a balance of honey and peanut butter, so I cut the PB in half. However, the addition of the honey made the whole thing kind of gooey and loose, so I added an extra cup of powdered sugar. This resulted in just an obnoxious amount of icing. This, friends, is when the magic happens.
What does a girl do with too much icing and a shriveled sad looking cupcake? She puts the icing inside the cupcake. You heard me ya’ll, my little dollar store piping tool went in overdrive and did its part to ensure a solid 40/60 icing to cake ratio. Not 50/50, that would be too far.

I’m  not a huge fan of pb but I ate one and it was ok. I’d like to make it again with nutella or cream cheese cinnamon frosting. The title of this post comes is for a friend whom I have dubbed cupcake face, for upon eating this she was trying so hard to shove it all in her mouth at once thatshe got icing up her nose. That, friends, is the ultimate compliment. I want people to like my food so much they lose all sense of propriety and self-control.

Banana Cupcakes

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 stick I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
    1/3 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 medium ripe bananas, peeled, and mashed

    Blend wet ingredients, then mix in dry ingredients. Portion into cups and bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes (My oven is tempermental so I went for 35 mins). Cool on a rack before frosting.

Peanut Butter Honey Icing

  • 1 stick I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter
  • 1/2 c creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 c honey
  • 3 tbsp nonfat milk
  • 3ish cups confectioners sugar

    With a hand mixer, cream wet ingredients together, then sift in sugar a cup at a time. When mixture starts to get dry and crumbly add milk as needed. Once all sugar is incorporated mix additional 1-2 minutes until desired fluffy texture is achieved.

