Greetings friends!
Short post as it’s not so much a recipe as “look what I did” but I have at least 4 posts half-started to lots to come this weekend.
Last night I was watching Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives which usually elicits reactions of “ew” or “your cardiologist must love you”, but this time I saw something I could actually do with ingredients in the house.

Rather than placing strips of bacon on a slab of meat and calling it a day, Dad’s Kitchen in Sacramento, CA apparently makes a bacon patty, a burger patty, and mushes them together with gorgonzola blue cheese in the middle. They then cook it bacon side down first so the cheese melts into the bacon and makes this kind of crust type situation then flips the whole deal over to sear the other side. What you get is cheesy, salty, sweet, meaty deliciousness. Say what?!? Oh yess….

Of course, we’ve got to rock this Yum-style (What? Don’t look at me like that, I need a catch phrase) and regular ground beef will not do. Time to test-drive meatball mix: ground beef, pork, and veal. The variety of meats give more depth of flavor. Beef stays juicy but is heavy, pork and veal are lighter and more tender but dry quickly. Mix them all and you get the best of all worlds.

Meat and Cheese!

Quadruple B: Bacon & Bleu Cheese Burger with Brown Rice

Don’t get scared when you see the cheese melting into the pan, just leave it be. The bacon needs time to cook through. Medium heat and a metal bowl to keep the heat in, and you’ll get a nice crust without a burn.
I’m pretty sure I’ve just undone 3 days of 6am workouts, but it was fun, and delicious.  Sometimes you just need a little meat and cheese in your life.

