Hi Friends,
The weather report called for turned into a 19 inch snowpocalypse overnight so I had all day to hang out.  The realization that I had a nowhere to go and nothing to do led to this:
And fresh squeezed orange juice with sparkling moscato and a portobello and onion frittata made for a lovely brunch. Dinner was a bigger adventure. I found some beef ribs picked up on sale in the freezer, and had some herbs and veg from the weekend farmer’s market trip. Never made beef ribs before, but every recipe I found leaned more towards savory than the sweet / heat I prefer on a pork rib.  I decided to treat it as I would a whole roast.

 

Everybody in the pool!

Marinating in herb-y goodness

Beef Rib Rub:

  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Sea salt
  • Black pepper
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Corriander
  • Lemon juice
  • Olive Oil
  • Turbinado sugar

Turbinado sugar is my current obsession. I’m supposed to be going dairy and sugar free but that’s just not going to work, but this organic, lower calorie sugar makes me feel not as guilty.  Also sold as “sugar in the raw”, it’s usually pretty expensive, but +1 for the farmer’s market  got a pretty hefty bag for a dollar. I didn’t even know what it was until watching Giada make shortcake last week, but now i’m all about it. I only added a tablespoon or so. Don’t want the meat to be sweet, just want to encourage carmelization.

Glass dish, rub the mix on, leftover red wine in the bottom of the pan, cover and in the oven for 2 hours at 300 degrees.
Cooking instructions thanks to one of my favorite sites Cooking for Engineers.
I love SO MUCH LOVE for Cooking for Engineers, because they explain why things are the way they are and have a handy measurement conversion calculator at the top. I’ve mentioned a few times that I have trouble following recipes as written, so at least this gives me some boundaries.

I can’t eat just meat so time to contemplate sides. I found a rather sad looking portobello mushroom, an eggplant, and a red onion in the fridge. I skimmed off the excess oil from the ribs leaving only the good stuff from the pan drippings. Sliced and dredged the veg in the makeshift marinade, added some balsamic vinegar, fired up the grill and went to work.

Quick Tip: Eggplant has a lot of moisture that makes it hard to get a good sear if it’s not breaded. When grilling or oven frying, sprinkle with kosher salt to draw the water out and cover with paper towels or tea towels.  Towels will soak up the water and you’ll get distinct, even grill marks.

Here’s what we ended up with  –

Next up – what I did with the rest of that wine.

